Skip to content

Projecty Goodness

June 28, 2010

Welcome to my first (and hopefully only) Haul Blog.  My Mamma Bear and  I went to Michaels yesterday for their super awesome sale.  They had a coupon for 15% off of your entire purchase.  With all the DIY I’ve been into lately, I figured it was an ideal time to stock up on supplies.

For starters, Kevin Hellions decided we definitely need some decoupaged comic decor for our reception.  I did roughly two minutes of research, assumed I had the necessary skill and made my list: comics (check), Mod Podge (matte, as I could do without the glare as seen in those pictures) and something-to-decoupage-on.

I did roughly two more minutes research (what can I say, I like to be thorough) and decided that paper mache boxes would be the most cost efficient and effective something-to-decoupage-on.

With my now complete list for Mr. Hellions, I worked on a second list.  Cue digression.  I’ve been doing so much surfing on Etsy and making so many paper flowers, that I’ve started to wonder if I shouldn’t make an Etsy shop of my own.  My friend has a fantastic shop and reading all her updates about jewelery making has rather inspired me.  So I made an additional little supply list of my own.

The trip was very successful.  I purchased the Mod Podge and a bunch of paper mache boxes.

Various types of paper mache boxes.

See the book?!  How perfect is that?  For my side project, I bought pieces to make a bouquet, a wrist corsage band and a couple lapel pins.Pins and strap

I made flowers prior to the trip for an experimental bouquet.  After I saw it completed, I rather wanted to keep it for my own wedding.  Since I won’t be able to keep it either way, what with the bouquet tossing tradition, I ought to see if it can sell.  Yet, to be perfectly contradictory, I wonder if it’s nice enough for someone to want to pay for it.  I’ve already started working on three bigger flowers to add and rearrange it, but this is how it looks after my first attempt.

Bouquet

More posts will follow with progress of these various projects.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama Bear permalink
    June 30, 2010 2:50 pm

    Your bouquet is beautiful. The picture looks better here than on my cell phone. I still want to see it live. And is jamberrysong Laura?

    • Kevin Hellions permalink*
      June 30, 2010 6:56 pm

      A friend of both Kevin and I named Jacinta. Very artistic lady.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

