Skip to content

Paper Roses

June 23, 2010

To say that Mr. Hellions and I are on a small budget is like saying BP had a little oopsie in the gulf.  We are primarily funding these Nerd Nuptials ourselves and make only a tad bit more money than we need to pay the bills.

So I said to myself, self, how can I save money on this wedding?  Well, people typically spend a small fortune on flowers.  While fake flowers can be beautiful, I’m not very good with them.  I wouldn’t know how to arrange them in an aesthetically appealing way and would probably still have to pay more for the blooms that looked more realistic.  A simple solution: don’t try to make them look real, make them stylized.

Enter Etsy Stage Left.  My favorites were from a seller, TeacupDesign, but for the amount I need, it would still cost me too much.  I have to say, if you can afford the crafts, support these sellers.  They’re talented and deserve the business.  Sadly, I was back to the drawing board.

I opted for a little DIY.  My first attempt was an epic fail of ugly.  I tried newspaper for these flowers, but the results were blah, at best.  Mixing tissue paper with the newspaper petals really didn’t make much difference.

See? There is no good here. Only bad, bad badness.

There were many other attempts until I threw away the newspaper and decided to “upcycle” a damaged book.  I still like the Etsy flowers more, but mine are definitely charming and wedding worthy.  I painted the pages in my wedding colors, too!

Rocking my DIY genes!

I’ve already made dozens of these paper roses and think they’ll look awesome scattered around my centerpieces.  In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have opted to upcycle the extra copy of Kevin Smith’s My Boring Ass Life with the messed up glue in the spine.  Oopsie daisy.  Or oopsie rosie, as the case may be.  Needless to say, I will be thoroughly examining the specific roses for the Parent’s Table to ensure that there are no references to his morning shit, sex exploits or drug use.

But for every other table, we could make a game out of it.  Five points for expletives, three for a sex act, one for any time he watches something on TiVo and falls asleep.  I think Kevin Smith would be proud!

I’m certainly proud of the results.  With the exception of bouquets and boutonnieres, these paper creations will be the only featured flowers.  A warning: I’m a little obsessive compulsive so the time required doing this solo doesn’t bother me.  If you’re planning to do paper flowers en masse, give yourself plenty of time and/or enlist help.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama Bear permalink
    June 23, 2010 5:46 pm

    Love the blog Baby Bear. I never thought of you and Kev as geeks… but I guess you really are. I say this with my deepest affections for both of you. ❤

  2. Mama Bear permalink
    June 23, 2010 5:46 pm

    Hey… my ❤ did not come out looking like a heart 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Get Centered « Nerd Nuptials

Leave a Reply

