Skip to content

Taking the Cake

June 26, 2010

Nobody wants their wedding cake to be a cakewreck.  Sure, it’s hilarious when you’re looking at a jpeg on the internet, but tragic when that eyesore is on display at your own reception.

On the other hand, the fondant dreams featured on Cake Boss and Ace of Cakes can easily cost a small fortune.  We thought we had the perfect solution when a casual friend, who happens to be a professional baker, offered to make our wedding cake at cost.  Unfortunately, factors beyond our control have convinced us to opt out of this very sweet deal (Get it?  Sweet?  Like cake?).  While I’m glad we found out this wasn’t a workable solution very early on, we’re back to the cakewreck/financial wreck dilemma.

Bottom line, less will have to be more, this time.  Would some guests be impressed by an extravagant pastry display?  Surely.  But I bet more people will be struck by a cake that is completely “us”.  You know those rather cheesy printed photo cakes?  I want one.  With this on it.

Green Arrow and Black Canary, for my non-comic geeks

Green Arrow is a big favorite of mine and this art is perfect.  I would love to have it as a cake topper, but we would unfortunately have to commission someone to make it.  Thus once again strangling our poor budget.  So why not just sheet cake it?  Admittedly, it’s cheesy, but it would also be wicked fun.

The catch is that I’m very attached to the idea of a bride and action figure for the cake topper.  Sheet cakes don’t really need topping.  So the options are printed sheet cake, or simple tiered cake with the toppers.  Or maybe some awesome hybrid?

Supercool Cake Sketch

Thoughts?  Whichever direction we choose, we’re getting somewhere.  Oh, and don’t suggest the dreaded cupcake cake.  I have standards.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama Bear permalink
    June 27, 2010 12:43 am

    Okay… so the cake thingy. We have lots of time for me to make a few practice cakes. I’m willing to try starting this fall when the temperatures go down. And no matter how the practice cakes look they will sure taste good 🙂 Let me know. Love you much, Mama Bear

    • Kevin Hellions permalink*
      June 27, 2010 3:12 pm

      You’d actually be willing to? Last I knew, you weren’t willing! Also, I could probably do the printed sheet cake at the grocery store, but I wouldn’t trust them for a tiered cake. I’m so excited!

      • Mama Bear permalink
        June 30, 2010 2:35 pm

        Certainly I am willing to practice. I have plenty of time to do that. It would be fun and I don’t think it would be too much of a challenge 🙂 And it’s for my two favorite Geeks.

Leave a Reply

