Skip to content

Get Centered

June 29, 2010

Centerpieces.  They are pieces for the aforementioned tables.  Rather self-explanatory, no?  Traditionally, they feature some type of flower.  Also previously addressed, Kevin Hellions and I have opted for Boring Ass Life paper roses instead of real or cloth blooms.  That takes care of what is already established.

The roses alone are not enough for a centerpiece.  The obvious answer is to actually display books.  Using texts by the featured author of each table would be a really nice touch, but I shudder at the idea of misplacing a Gaiman novel, or a guest mistaking the display for a favor.  There are tons of people dying for a copy of Smoke and Mirrors, right?  Okay, probably not, but even so, I can’t risk the possibility.  Some great pics of what I have in mind are click your mouse here kthxbai.  Also, here.

Instead, Mr. Hellions and I will be cruising garage sales, the Salvation Army, and our own collection for books we could stand to part with.  Imagine hardcovers with homemade contact paper jackets in our wedding colors (sage and rose).  How cute would that be?  Yes, this really is what I get excited about these days.  We could even make up amusing fake titles to write on the spines. Love in the Times of H1N1.

Since we will not be using actual texts by the featured authors at each table, I found a cool alternative.  Each table can have a framed picture of its author.  That way, I can really highlight the Atwood table, without gambling whether or not I’ll see my copy of Blind Assassin again.

My goal with the centerpieces is to have them all coordinated, but no two identical.  Some tables can have the books stacked and tied with a ribbon, while others can have little bookends holding them up.  Some flowers can be scattered around the books, while others will be made into bouquets and placed in little vases.

Another element we’ll incorporate are the paper mache boxes decoupaged with comics.  Side note: DIY wedding adventures have done much for my spelling.  I had no idea how to spell paper mache or decoupage two weeks ago.

In order to unify all these elements, I’ll paint the vases, bookends and frames to match our color scheme.  I swear, Martha Stewart has become the little voice in my head.  If I offer you a job in my factory, you may want to decline.  That is all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama Bear permalink
    June 30, 2010 2:57 pm

    All your ideas are coming together nicely. How awesome is all this going to look !!!! 🙂 I wanna help. You just need to tell me what to do.

    • Kevin Hellions permalink*
      June 30, 2010 6:56 pm

      Start looking for comics we can cut up! haha

  2. Mama Bear permalink
    July 6, 2010 4:22 pm

    Will do Kev 🙂

Leave a Reply

