Skip to content

Save the Dates. All the Dates.

July 6, 2010

I apologize for my two day absence.  Between the holiday and the heat wave I was out of commission.  Yesterday I barricaded myself in the bedroom with Mario Kart on gamecube and the AC blasting.

But here I am, loyal readers, melting in front of the computer on day two of this Central New York heat wave.  Just for you.  Today we shall discuss Save the Dates.

Saving the Date is important.  These cards are informal, sent out long in advance of the invitations, letting your intended guests know the where, when and any special details of your occasion.  Whoever established the names of these wedding traditions seriously lacked in creativity.  Still, without these, many people would not have enough notice to attend your wedding.  With our budget, I’m wondering if that would really be so bad.

My perception is that the invitations should be more formal and traditional, but the Save the Dates are where you can have some fun.  That is only my opinion, of course.

I have stumbled across many a geeky book themed idea.  The coolest, by far, was the couple who actually mailed out books.  They silk screened the pertinent information on the cover and mailed out freaking books!  The process of silk screening is actually not hard, but making the screen wouldn’t be easy for your casual DIY couple.  The real issue I have with this idea is the postage.  What does a stamp cost now?  Seven dollars and a ha’penny?  I don’t want to think about how much shipping a book to every potential guest must cost.

Second choice, which I will likely try to convince Kevin Hellions we should choose, is the library due date card, like this one from Blogger Brides.

Save the date

Behold the geeky adorable. Behold it!

Wicked fun DIY, inexpensive, naturally lends itself to sharing all the relevant information and totally appropriate for the book themed wedding.  I’ve seen many variations of this idea on ye olde interwebs, but this one was my favorite.

I’ve also seen instances of people sending bookmarks for their book themed wedding Save the Dates.  All the perks of using a bookmark as a favor apply here, as well.  Flexible for your budget, DIY friendly (though not necessary) and very easy to personalize.  I simply prefer them as a favor.

Another neat idea would be to write a flash fiction piece that incorporates all the information you need to convey to your guests.  I’d suggest using a larger font in bold for the names, date and location so it’s easier for your invitees to reference quickly.  If you didn’t know, it is Flash Fiction Month!

My last Etsy hocking post featured that great comic Save the Date, which (once again) I’d be all over if we could afford it.

You could make a collage out of newspaper or magazine clippings.  As with the flash fiction, I’d recommend making sure the pertinent details really pop out.

Save the Date Collage

I made this in two minutes, but it gets the idea across.

No matter what you choose, you don’t want it to drive your guests crazy trying to find the date they need to save.  Besides that, you can get as simple or elaborate as time and your budget allow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. fjchairul permalink
    July 7, 2010 3:20 am

    i think budget is very important

    ___________________________________
    Please visit: http://www.babybeeshop.com

  2. Mama Bear permalink
    July 23, 2010 6:30 pm

    My favorite is ye olde library card… awesomeness 🙂

Leave a Reply

